Page 21 - Delaware County Chamber of Commerce - 2016 Membership Directory
P. 21

a five-county region, including Philadelphia, Southern New Jersey and Delaware.
Cardinal O’Hara High School is a private Catholic high school and one of 17 high schools that make up the secondary school system of
the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. Located on a 45-acre campus, the school opened in 1963 and is accredited by the Middle States Association. Students may choose from unique course options, including 33 Advanced Placement classes and many electives.
Chester Community Charter School (CCCS) is a not-for-profit public charter school in Chester, Pa. and has served the Chester-Upland School District (Delaware County and Philadelphia region) for more than 15 years. In that time, enrollment has grown from 97 students to more than 3,000. CCCS operates two campuses: in Chester City, known as the East Campus, and in Chester Township, known as the West Campus, and is a federally designated Title I school.
Chester Education Foundation is a Local Education Fund (LEF) incorporated
in 1989 by a consortium of local
and state leaders to support
educational excellence and promote community revitalization in the Chester- Upland School District (CUSD).
Delaware County
Intermediate Unit #25
(DCIU) is a regional education
services agency, providing
leadership for the development of
innovative and cost-effective programs to
meet the needs of students in Delaware County. The DCIU is one of the state’s 29 regional educational agencies. It serves more than 70,000 school-aged students and more than 6,000 educators.
E. T. Richardson Middle School is part of the Springfield School District in Delaware County. “Our middle school is a place to grow, discover and learn. We strongly urge all students to take advantage of the many academic, athletic and social activities that our school has to offer,” Principal Dan Tracy says.
Frederick Douglass Christian School, located in Chester, Pa., is a Christian-centered learning community designed to serve and
empower inner-city families by providing quality education in a safe and supportive atmosphere. The kindergarten through fourth grade school is co-educational and the student-teacher ratio is 13:1.
Holy Child Academy (HCA), a private school in Drexel Hill, is the only independent, Catholic school for boys and girls in nursery school through eighth grade in Delaware County. Founded in 1927, the school has an approximate enrollment of 60 students with an 8:1 student-teacher ratio.
Interboro School District is a midsized, suburban public school district located just outside Philadelphia. The district comprises four communities: Glenolden, Norwood, Prospect Park and Tinicum Township.
Lansdowne Friends School is a private, co-educational Quaker day school. Its mission is to engage students in a challenging educational program guided by Quaker values, especially those
of respect for all people and peaceful problem solving. Founded in
1902, the school offers instruction for students
in kindergarten through sixth grade.
The Malvern School offers
an innovative
educational curriculum for
children from six weeks to eight years of age. Standards were established by the National
Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC), the nation’s largest early childhood accrediting organization.
Marple Newtown School District is
a midsized, suburban public school district, which serves Newtown Township and Marple Township. It encompasses four elementary schools, a middle school and a high school. There are approximately 3,300 students enrolled in kindergarten through twelfth grade.
Media-Providence Friends School was founded in 1876 and is a co-educational Quaker day school for students in preschool through eighth grade. Enrollment for the current
school year is 140 students, with 31 students in preschool, 78 in the lower school and 31 in the middle school.
Rose Tree Media School District, located in Media, Pa., comprises four elementary schools, a middle school and a high school
and serves approximately 3,700 students. “ has ranked our District 11th in
the Commonwealth by virtue of the following factors: parent/student surveys, academics grade, average teacher salary, teacher absenteeism, teacher salary index and teacher-student ratio,” Superintendent Jim Wigo, Sr. says.
Shiloh Development Academy,
Inc. is an early childhood educational facility and was established in 1997 by the Board of Directors of the Shiloh Baptist Church. The programs are geared to students in preschool through kindergarten and enrollment is small for individualized attention.
Springfield Area Educational Foundation (SAEF) was established by the Springfield School District to provide educational opportunities for students who attend the
public schools in the Springfield and Morton communities. For 10 years, the Foundation
has been serving the students of the District
by delivering educational programs and by offering scholarships and awards to the District’s graduating seniors.
St. Andrew School is located in Drexel Hill, Pa., and is a Roman Catholic, co-educational school for students from preschool through eighth grade. Founded in 1922, St. Andrew School is fully accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools.
Upper Darby Community Outreach Corp. (UDCOC) is a faith-based, non-profit organization, serving residents of Eastern Delaware County and West Philadelphia. Services include the BLAST after-school program, a summer day camp, the “College in Your Neighborhood!” program, the Community Nurse Health Ministry and English Language Learners (ELL) classes.
The Walden School is a Montessori- based independent school that serves children from preschool through eighth grade. Located
in Media, Pa., the school was founded in 1967. The Preschool/Kindergarten program is based on providing freedom in a prepared environment. 19

   19   20   21   22   23